Core Leadership

Stuart Sandin Director  /Pacific Atolls and Coral Reefs Research ssandin@ucsd.edu
Greg Rouse Associate Director /Director Benthic Invertebrates Collection grouse@ucsd.edu
Richard Norris Education Director / Climate Change Past and Present Research rnorris@ucsd.edu
Lisa Levin Director Emeritus / Deep Ocean Stewardship llevin@ucsd.edu
Allison Kellum CMBC Operations Coordinator/ Administration akellum@ucsd.edu

Leadership Team Steering Committee Members

Octavio Aburto-Oropeza Gulf of California Program maburto@ucsd.edu
Raquel Benguist SIO Development raquel@ucsd.edu
Kayla Blincow Ph.D. Student/ Student Representative kblincow@ucsd.edu
Ron Burton Population Genetics evolutionary biology rburton@ucsd.edu
Richard Carson Natural Resource Economics & Environmental Valuation rcarson@ucsd.edu
Ayelet Gneezy Market, Consumer Behavior – Rady School of Management agneezy@ucsd.edu
Phil Hastings Marine Biodiversity and Conservation phastings@ucsd.edu
Mark Jacobsen Economics of climate change; environmental policy instruments  m3jacobsen@ucsd.edu
Sarah Mesnick social and molecular ecology of marine mammals/ Sustainable Local Seafood/ NOAA Fisheries Representative Sarah.Mesnick@noaa.gov
Samantha Murray MAS-MBC Program Director smurray@ucsd.edu
Brice Semmens Coastal California Research
Long-Term Ecological Research in the California Current (LTER)
bsemmens@ucsd.edu
Jennifer Smith Ocean Acidification Research smithj@ucsd.edu
George Sugihara market mechanisms for marine conservation gsugihara@ucsd.edu
Joel Watson Game theory models of contract settings jwatson@ucsd.edu
Mary Yang Community Representative

Visiting Scholars

Sara McDonald
July 2017- Aug 2021
Monterey Bay Aquarium,  Seafood Watch Program slmcdonald@ucsd.edu
Lyall Bellquist
Sept 2017 – August 2021
The Nature Conservancy, fisheries management & policy lbellqui@ucsd.edu
Katie Cramer
January 2020 – August 2021
University of Arizona
Paleobiology research
katie.cramer@gmail.com

Faculty & Researchers

Name Research Interest/Lab link Office contact
Allen, Andrew Microbiology & genomics 2256 Sverdrup Hall 858-534-3544
Andersson, Andreas Marine CO2 & carbonate geochemistry
Andersson Research Facebook
444 Vaughan Hall
858-822-2486
Azam, Farooq Microbial Oceanography 4105 Hubbs Hall
858-534-6850
Barlow, Jay Marine Mammal Acoustics SWFSC
858-546-7178
Baumann-Pickering, Simone Behavioral acoustic ecology Ritter Hall 200F
858-534-7280
Bowman, Jeff Marine Microbiology Sverdrup Hall 2139
858-246-1687
Braswell, Geoffrey Anthropology – society political & economic systems; Mesoamerican Archaeology 284 Soc Sci Bldg
858-822-0726
Callender, Craig Philosophy & Ethics 8077 H & SS Bldg.
858-822-4911
Cartamil, Dan Shark Research Consortium  dcartamil@ucsd.edu
Cartwright, Lisa Communications in health & medicine, media & film studies 359 Visual Arts Facility
858-822-2695
Cayan, Dan Global-regional climate & hydrologic changes 201 B Nierenberg Hall
858-534-4507
Charles, Chris Paleooceanography/climatology 858-534-5911
Checkley, David Ecology of zooplankton 2220 Sverdrup Hall
858-534-4228
Choy, Anela deep-sea biology, pelagic ecology, marine food webs 2173 Sverdrup Hall
(858) 822-3020
Csordas Thomas Anthropology SSB272
Cornelius, Wayne  Political Science ERC106
Cornuelle, Bruce Ocean circulation, acoustic remote sensing 411 Nierenberg Hall
858-534-4021
Cowhey, Peter International Political economy & biological threats 4201RBC-
858-534-1946
Cruz, Edwin (Teddy)  Visual Arts Visual Arts 620
Day, James Geoscience Research -Earth Chemistry 306 Vaughan Hall
858-534-5431
Dayton, Paul
(Emeritus)
Marine conservation & policy; ecology 332 Ritter Hall
858-534-6740
Davis, Zeinabu Irene Communication & filmmaking 858-534-6328
Deheyn, Dimitri Marine Biology and Biotechnology  1130 Hubbs Hall 858-822-5303
Dorr, Kirstie  Ethnic Studies Social Science 232
Dorrestein Pieter Chemistry of Microbes Pharm Sci 4424
Driscoll, Neal Sea-level fluctuations, geoscience 300 F Ritter Hall
858-822-5026
Dutton, Peter Marine Turtle Genetics NOAA SWFSC
858-546-5636
Eddebbar, Yassir International Climate science MESOM/SIO 367
858-534-6207
Erie, Steven – Emeritus Public Policy, minority politics SSB360
858-534-3083
Evans, Ivan Sociology of the Environment SSB 489
858-534-2614
Evans, John Sociology of Culture, Bioethics SSB 401
858-534-2779
Flick, Ron Instrumentation and innovation Eckart Bldg 144
858-534-3234
Fowler, James  Political Science – Global public health Soc Sci 392
Franks, Peter Phytoplankton ecology 2119 Sverdrup
858-534-7528
 Gartzke, Erik Political Science 362 Social Science Building
858-534-8211
Ferrer, Erica PIER Student Representative to the Committee
Forman, Fonna Political Science – Center on Global Justice SME 404
858-822-3868
Fowler, James Political Science & Medicine SSB 392
858-534-6807
Garg, Teeverat Economics & management – School of Global Policy and Strategy RCB 1303
858-822-5733
Gee, Jeff geomagnetic field variations 300D Ritter Hall
858-534-4707
Gerrodette, Tim Cetacean assessment, management & conservation NOAA SWFSC
858-546-7131
Gibson, Clark Environmental politics- International Studies  SSB 386
858-822-5140
Giddings, Sarah Estuarine/coastal ocean interactions MESOM 363
858-534-5103
Gneezy, Ayelet Conservation and Human Behavioral Science; Corporate responsibility 3S154 Otterson Hall
858-534-4131
Goldfarb, Brian Media, technology and communication 241 Media Center  858-822-2239
Graff-Zivin, Josh Economics & societal decision-making RBC 1313
858-822-6438
Groves, Ted (Emeritus) Environmental & Resource Economics ECON 321
619-886-5056
Hamdoun, Amro Environment and Human Health 3150 Hubbs Hall
858-822-5839
Haydu, Jeff  Sociology Social Sci 496
Hechinger, Ryan Parasites in the ecosystem 2139 Sverdrup Hall
858-822-3788
Hewitt,Roger acoustics surveys of whales, seals, penguins and seabirds  NOAA SWFSC Director’s Office
858-546-5602
Hildebrand, John Noise impacts on marine mammal & population census w/acoustics  200E Ritter Hall
858-534-4069
Iacobellis, Sam air-sea interactions & climate modeling 204 Nierenberg Hall
858-534-3126
Jensen, Paul microbiology 201B Ritter Hall
858-534-7322
Jolivette, Andre Ethnic Studies Social Sci Res. Bldg.
Kacev, Dovi Shark ecology, conservation 3130 Hubbs Hall
Kay, Isabelle Academic Coordinator Natural Reserve System
Keeling, Ralph global climate cycle; paleoclimate 312 Vaughan Hall
858-534-7582
Kennel, Charlie Global environmental science, intersection of science and policy 338 Nierenberg Hall
858-822-6524
Kousser, Thad Political science 369 SSB
858-854-3239
Koslow, (Tony) Julian -Emeritus Deep-sea conservation, seamount ecology, fisheries management 858-534-7284
Krishnan, Vish New product development & process innovation 3S144 Otterson Hall
858-822-1991
Lake, David International Relations & Political Economy 372 Soc Sci Bldg
858-534-0347
Leichter, James Ecology & oceanography of coastal systems 328 Ritter Hall
858-822-5330
McCord, Gordon Economic development & environment RBC/Robinson Bldg.
858-534-0590
McDonald, Christian Dive Safety Officer
McIntosh, Craig development economics – program evaluation & policy impacts 1305 RBC/Robinson Bldg. 858-822-1125
Mesnick, Sarah social and molecular ecology of marine mammals NOAA SWFSC
858-546-7148
Mitchell, Greg Center for algal biotechnology 2240 Sverdrup
858-534-2687
Morin, Phil marine mammal genetics & conservation NOAA SWFSC
858-546-7165
Nosal, Andrew movement ecology of sharks Visiting Assistant Researcher
Ohman, Mark curator – pelagic invertebrate collection 2153 Sverdrup
858-534-2754
Peach, Cheryl new initiatives in education and outreach Birch Aquarium
858-822-5323
Pedersen, David sociocultural anthropology 858-534-6890
Perrin, William systematics and ecology of cetaceans NOAA SWFSC
858-546-7096
Rivera-Collazo, Isabelle Anthropology – coastal human population adaptation to climate change 1220 Sverdrup Hall
858- 822-4717
Send, Uwe Ocean-climate interactions, CO2 uptake 446 Nierenberg
858-822-6710
Severinghaus, Jeff pleistocene global carbon cycle – ice cores 858-822-2483
Schoeninger, Margaret Behavior and ecological reconstruction 858-822-1890
Schkade, David Decision making, public policy, environment, and law 858-822-5933
Shurin, Jonathan Community and ecosystem ecology in aquatic environments 4258 Biology Bldg 858-534-0705
Staulbam, Brett  Visual Arts Vis Arts Bldg
Streeby, Shelly Ethnic Studies and Literature  LIT 452
Squires, Dale natural resource, environmental, and fisheries economics, productivity, regulation NOAA SWFSC
858-546-7113
Stocks, Karen marine biogeography, seamount ecology 317 Ritter Hall
858-534-1898
Taylor, Barbara recovery factors for endangered marine mammals NOAA SWFSC
858-546-5620
Taylor, Jennifer Environmental adaptations and evolution of crustacean exoskeleton 4120 Hubbs Hall
858-822-4712
Tresguerres, Martin aquaculture, biofuels & evolution
https://www.facebook.com/3guerreslab
3135 Hubbs Hall
858-534-5895
Vacquier, Vic
Emeritus
fertilization in marine invertebrates 3165 Hubbs Hall
858-534-4803
Vetter, Russ fish genetics and aquaculture NOAA SWFSC
858-546-7125
Victor, David  Global Policy and Society  RBC 1405
Wang, Wayne  Ethnic Studies Social Sci Bld 222
Welchman, John Visual Arts Visual arts 356
Willenbring, Jane how landscapes are affected by tectonics, climate change, and life 210 Vaughan Hall
858-534-0717
Williams, Alena  Visual Arts Visual Arts 364
Yoldas, Pinar  Visual Arts Visual Arts 453
Zmarzly, Debbie Birch Aquarium Birch Aquarium 858-534-4087

Associated Researchers

Alan Sielen Senior Fellow for International Environmental Policy asielen@ucsd.edu
asielen@cox.net
Nick Obradovich Fellow for Human-Environmental Systems nobradovich@gmail.com
Oriana Poindexter Sustainable Fisheries Fellow opoindexter@ucsd.edu
Nadia Rubio Fellow for Coastal Ecosystem Services rubio.nadiat@gmail.com
Michael Tillman Research Associate – Marine Mammals mftillman@mac.com